Foundation Stage Explained

The Early Years Foundation Stages (EYFS) 1 and 2 set standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old.

Foundation - Early Years Curriculum. FS 1 and FS 2 are offered at Dubai British Foundation, a mere 2 minutes drive from Dubai British School Jumeirah Park.

A detailed record of your child’s learning journey, identifying developmental milestones achieved, will be shared with parents and used to aid a smooth transition into Year 1 of Primary School.

The EYFS concentrates on seven areas of learning, defined as prime and specific areas of learning.

The prime areas of learning are:

  • personal, social and emotional development
  • communication and language
  • physical development

The specific areas of learning are:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

Learning is frequently developed through play-based activities, centred around a range of child-friendly topics or themes. All of the above seven areas of learning are interrelated and are not taught in isolation but in a cross-curricular fashion. This ensures a balanced education for your child and learning with understanding and enjoyment.

Early Years Foundation Stage Profile

At the end of the academic year when a child turns 5, the practitioner records each child’s development by observing the child at work and at play in the classroom. The completed assessment is known as the ‘early years foundation stage profile’. This is used to help the Year 1 teacher plan and differentiate lessons for the children.